The story
behind the label

Molson, it’s the name on the label but there’s a lot behind it. With the determination to make the world a better place, John Molson built a legacy of more than just great beer. Today, we carry that belief in everything we do. Because the best way to honour history is to keep making it.

A Journey To Canada

1786

At age 18, John Molson sailed on a leaking ship from England to Canada, with a thirst for a better beer in a new country. In 1786, he founded the Molson Brewery, the oldest brewery in North America, and subsequently, Canada’s second oldest company.

A public hospital
for those in need

1821

When Molson saw that the only hospital in Montreal had a mere 30 beds, he took it upon himself to lobby support to build the first public hospital in the city. By May of that same year, the Montreal General Hospital was opened.

A railway
to build connections.

1836

In the spirit of bringing people together, John Molson helped create the first ever railway connecting Canadians to our neighbours in the south. The Champlain and St. Lawrence Railroad made the journey from Montreal to New York much faster.

Banking on a bold adventure

1855

The Molson family’s contributions to Canadian banking began with John Molson acquiring an American bank and transforming it into the fully Canadian-owned Montreal Bank. In 1855, brothers William and John Molson, Jr. founded Molsons Bank to help a growing economy flourish. In subsequent years, younger generations of the Molson family would lead Molsons Bank, continuing the legacy of this bold venture into finance.

The birth of
Molson Export

1903

Molson Export entered the Canadian market in 1903 as the country’s first commercial beer. With ingredients dating back to the foundation of the Molson Brewery, Export has a history as rich as its taste.

Molson starts the
bottle return program

1927

In 1927, Molson helped establish the first ever bottle-return program. It was an early step in our commitment towards sustainability and waste reduction that continues to this day.

Molson starts the clock

1950

In 1950, Molson installed Quebec’s largest functioning clock on the side of their Montreal factory. Visible from 12 km away, the Molson clock is a staple of the Montreal skyline, counting great moments in the city’s history for 58 years and counting. Now, the iconic hexagon shape of the clock has been integrated into the new Molson branding as a celebration of our heritage.

Molson partners
with the Canadiens

1957

Molson poured our support into hockey, co-purchasing the Canadian Arena, which included the Montreal Forum and the Montreal Canadiens, and co-sponsored Hockey Night in Canada.

Canada gets its first taste of Molson Canadian

1959

Molson Canadian came to market in 1959, supported with a TV campaign that asked “What do you want from a lager?”, and a fresh-tasting beer that proved we had listened. It was the arrival of an iconic mainstay in the Canadian beer market.

Molson partners with
the Maple Leafs

1973

Molson’s ties with the NHL strengthened in 1973, when they began a partnership with the Toronto Maple Leafs that has been going strong for over 40 years and counting.






Founding the
Red Leaf Project

2012

As part of our effort to preserve Canada’s environment, Molson founded The Red Leaf Project. With a team of volunteers, we planted thousands of trees, collected more than hundreds of bags of litter and removed invasive species from parks across the country.

Introducing our
Beer Fridge to the world

2015

In 2015, red fridges filled with Molson Canadian started turning up around the world. As Canadian travelers and locals came together over rounds of Molson, they showed the world that Canadian pride goes a long way.

Committing to Canadian taste

2018


Molson has always strived to use ingredients that reflect our Canadian pride, like select Prairie barley and Canadian water. In 2018, we started using select homegrown hops from Chilliwack, British Columbia, where we will be opening our newest brewery, adding to our list of Canadian breweries in St. John’s, Moncton, Montreal, and Toronto.

The story
behind the label.

Molson, it’s the name on the label but there’s a lot behind it. With the determination to make the world a better place, John Molson built a legacy of more than just great beer. Today, we carry that belief in everything we do. Because the best way to honour history is to keep making it.

A Journey to Canada

1786

At age 18, John Molson sailed on a leaking ship from England to Canada, with a thirst for a better beer in a new country. In 1786, he founded the Molson Brewery, the oldest brewery in North America, and subsequently, Canada’s second oldest company.

A public hospital
for those in need.

1821

When Molson saw that the only hospital in Montreal had a mere 30 beds, he took it upon himself to lobby support to build the first public hospital in the city. By May of that same year, the Montreal General Hospital was opened.

A railway to build connections.

1836

In the spirit of bringing people together, John Molson helped create the first ever railway connecting Canadians to our neighbours in the south. The Champlain and St. Lawrence Railroad made the journey from Montreal to New York much faster.

Banking on
a bold venture.

1855

The Molson family’s contributions to Canadian banking began with John Molson acquiring an American bank and transforming it into the fully Canadian-owned Montreal Bank. In 1855, brothers William and John Molson, Jr. founded Molsons Bank to help a growing economy flourish. In subsequent years, younger generations of the Molson family would lead Molsons Bank, continuing the legacy of this bold venture into finance.

The birth of
Molson Export

1903

Molson Export entered the Canadian market in 1903 as the country’s first commercial beer. With ingredients dating back to the foundation of the Molson Brewery, Export has a history as rich as its taste.

Molson starts the
bottle return program

1927

In 1927, Molson helped establish the first ever bottle-return program. It was an early step in our commitment towards sustainability and waste reduction that continues to this day.

Molson starts
the clock

1950

In 1950, Molson installed Quebec’s largest functioning clock on the side of their Montreal factory. Visible from 12 km away, the Molson clock is a staple of the Montreal skyline, counting great moments in the city’s history for 58 years and counting. Now, the iconic hexagon shape of the clock has been integrated into the new Molson branding as a celebration of our heritage.

Molson partners
with the Canadiens

1957

Molson poured our support into hockey, co-purchasing the Canadian Arena, which included the Montreal Forum and the Montreal Canadiens, and co-sponsored Hockey Night in Canada.

Canada gets its first taste
of Molson Canadian

1959

Molson Canadian came to market in 1959, supported with a TV campaign that asked “What do you want from a lager?”, and a fresh-tasting beer that proved we had listened. It was the arrival of an iconic mainstay in the Canadian beer market.

Molson partners with
the Maple Leafs

1973

Molson’s ties with the NHL strengthened in 1973, when they began a partnership with the Toronto Maple Leafs that has been going strong for over 40 years and counting.

Founding the
Red Leaf Project

2012

As part of our effort to preserve Canada’s environment, Molson founded The Red Leaf Project. With a team of volunteers, we planted thousands of trees, collected more than hundreds of bags of litter and removed invasive species from parks across the country.

Introducing our Beer Fridge to the world

2015

In 2015, red fridges filled with Molson Canadian started turning up around the world. As Canadian travelers and locals came together over rounds of Molson, they showed the world that Canadian pride goes a long way.

Committing to Canadian Taste

2018


Molson has always strived to use ingredients that reflect our Canadian pride, like select Prairie barley and Canadian water. In 2018, we started using select homegrown hops from Chilliwack, British Columbia, where we will be opening our newest brewery, adding to our list of Canadian breweries in St. John’s, Moncton, Montreal, and Toronto.

L’histoire
derrière l’étiquette

Molson, c’est le nom d’une bière, mais c’est aussi beaucoup plus que ça. Déterminé à rendre le monde meilleur, John Molson a laissé un héritage qui ne se limite pas à de l’excellente bière. Aujourd’hui, nous mettons cette conviction en pratique dans tout ce que nous faisons. Parce que la meilleure façon d’honorer l’histoire, c’est de continuer à l’écrire.

Un périple au Canada.

1786

À 18 ans, John Molson navigue de l’Angleterre au Canada sur un bateau qui prend l’eau, guidé par la soif d’une bière meilleure dans un nouveau pays. En 1786, il fonde la brasserie Molson, la plus ancienne brasserie en Amérique du Nord et la deuxième plus ancienne compagnie canadienne.

Un hôpital public
pour ceux dans le besoin.

1821

Quand Molson constate que le seul hôpital à Montréal n’a qu’une trentaine de lits, il prend l’initiative de faire du lobbying pour amasser les fonds nécessaires à la construction du premier hôpital public de la ville. Dès le mois de mai de la même année, l’Hôpital général de Montréal ouvre ses portes.

Une voie ferrée
pour bâtir des liens.

1836

Dans le but de rapprocher les gens, John Molson crée la toute première voie ferroviaire reliant les Canadiens à leurs voisins du Sud. Le chemin de fer Champlain et Saint-Laurent rend le trajet Montréal-New York beaucoup plus rapide.

Mettre des idées en banque.

1855

Les contributions de la famille Molson au monde bancaire canadien commencent quand John Molson fait l’acquisition d’une banque américaine pour la transformer en banque entièrement canadienne : la Banque de Montréal. En 1855, les frères William et John Molson Junior fondent la Banque Molson pour aider l’économie florissante du pays à poursuivre sa croissance. Durant les années subséquentes, les nouvelles générations de Molson siègeront à la direction de la Banque Molson, prenant en main l’héritage de cette aventure audacieuse.

La création
de Molson Export.

1903

La Molson Export fait son entrée sur le marché canadien en 1903 en tant que première bière commerciale au pays. Avec des ingrédients datant de la fondation de la brasserie, la Molson Export a un goût aussi riche que son histoire.

Molson commence le programme
de retour des bouteilles.

1927

En 1927, Molson aide à mettre sur pied le tout premier programme de consignation des bouteilles. Il jette alors les bases d’un engagement envers le développement durable et la réduction des déchets que nous respectons encore à ce jour.

Molson donne l’heure juste.

1950

En 1950, Molson installe la plus grande horloge fonctionnelle au Québec sur le flanc de son usine de Montréal. Visible à 12 kilomètres de distance, l’horloge Molson, devenue un élément distinctif du paysage montréalais, ponctue les moments importants de l’histoire de la ville depuis plus de 58 ans. En guise d’hommage à notre patrimoine, la forme hexagonale de la célèbre horloge a récemment été intégrée à la nouvelle image de marque de Molson.

Molson s’associe
aux Canadiens.

1957

En 1957 , Molson décide d’investir dans le hockey et devient copropriétaire de la Canadian Arena, qui comprend le Forum de Montréal et les Canadiens de Montréal. L’entreprise devient aussi cocommanditaire de la Soirée du Hockey.

Les Canadiens goûtent à leur première Molson Canadian.

1959

La Molson Canadian fait son entrée sur le marché en 1959, soutenue par une campagne télé qui demande aux consommateurs : « Que recherchez-vous dans une lager? » Notre bière bien fraîche prouve que la demande a été entendue. C’est la naissance d’un pilier de l’industrie brassicole canadienne.

Molson et les Maple Leafs
deviennent partenaires.

1973

Les liens entre Molson et la LNH se renforcent en 1973 quand l’entreprise conclut un partenariat avec les Maple Leafs de Toronto. Et l’entente perdure, plus de 40 ans plus tard.






Création du
projet Red Leaf.

2012

Dans le cadre de nos efforts pour protéger l’environnement, nous avons lancé en 2012 le projet Red Leaf. Avec une équipe de bénévoles, nous avons planté des milliers d’arbres, rempli des centaines de sacs de déchets trouvés dans nos espaces verts et retiré plusieurs espèces envahissantes de nombreux parcs partout au pays.

Lancement de notre
frigo à bière à travers le monde.

2015

En 2015, des frigos rouges remplis de Molson Canadian se mettent à apparaître un peu partout dans le monde. Permettant à des voyageurs canadiens et des gens de la place de se réunir autour de quelques tournées de Molson, ils montrent au monde entier que la fierté canadienne ne connaît pas de frontière.

Pour un goût canadien.

2018


Molson a toujours fait tout en son pouvoir pour utiliser des ingrédients qui reflètent sa fierté canadienne, comme de l’orge cultivée dans les Prairies et de l’eau canadienne. En 2018, nous avons commencé à utiliser du houblon cultivé à Chilliwack, en Colombie-Britannique, où nous ouvrirons sous peu une nouvelle brasserie. Elle s’ajoutera à celles de Saint-Jean de Terre-Neuve, Moncton, Montréal et Toronto.

L'histoire
derrière l’étiquette.

Molson, c’est le nom d’une bière, mais c’est aussi beaucoup plus que ça. Déterminé à rendre le monde meilleur, John Molson a laissé un héritage qui ne se limite pas à de l’excellente bière. Aujourd’hui, nous mettons cette conviction en pratique dans tout ce que nous faisons. Parce que la meilleure façon d’honorer l’histoire, c’est de continuer à l’écrire.

Un périple au Canada.

1786

À 18 ans, John Molson navigue de l’Angleterre au Canada sur un bateau qui prend l’eau, guidé par la soif d’une bière meilleure dans un nouveau pays. En 1786, il fonde la brasserie Molson, la plus ancienne brasserie en Amérique du Nord et la deuxième plus ancienne compagnie canadienne.

Un hôpital public
pour ceux dans le besoin.

1821

Quand Molson constate que le seul hôpital à Montréal n’a qu’une trentaine de lits, il prend l’initiative de faire du lobbying pour amasser les fonds nécessaires à la construction du premier hôpital public de la ville. Dès le mois de mai de la même année, l’Hôpital général de Montréal ouvre ses portes.

Une voie ferrée
pour bâtir des liens.

1836

Dans le but de rapprocher les gens, John Molson crée la toute première voie ferroviaire reliant les Canadiens à leurs voisins du Sud. Le chemin de fer Champlain et Saint-Laurent rend le trajet Montréal-New York beaucoup plus rapide.

Une voie ferrée
pour bâtir des liens.

1855

Les contributions de la famille Molson au monde bancaire canadien commencent quand John Molson fait l’acquisition d’une banque américaine pour la transformer en banque entièrement canadienne : la Banque de Montréal. En 1855, les frères William et John Molson Junior fondent la Banque Molson pour aider l’économie florissante du pays à poursuivre sa croissance. Durant les années subséquentes, les nouvelles générations de Molson siègeront à la direction de la Banque Molson, prenant en main l’héritage de cette aventure audacieuse.

La création de
Molson Export.

1903

La Molson Export fait son entrée sur le marché canadien en 1903 en tant que première bière commerciale au pays. Avec des ingrédients datant de la fondation de la brasserie, la Molson Export a un goût aussi riche que son histoire.

Molson commence le programme de retour des bouteilles.

1927

En 1927, Molson aide à mettre sur pied le tout premier programme de consignation des bouteilles. Il jette alors les bases d’un engagement envers le développement durable et la réduction des déchets que nous respectons encore à ce jour.

Molson donne
l’heure juste.

1950

En 1950, Molson installe la plus grande horloge fonctionnelle au Québec sur le flanc de son usine de Montréal. Visible à 12 kilomètres de distance, l’horloge Molson, devenue un élément distinctif du paysage montréalais, ponctue les moments importants de l’histoire de la ville depuis plus de 58 ans. En guise d’hommage à notre patrimoine, la forme hexagonale de la célèbre horloge a récemment été intégrée à la nouvelle image de marque de Molson.

Molson s’associe
aux Canadiens.

1957

En 1957 , Molson décide d’investir dans le hockey et devient copropriétaire de la Canadian Arena, qui comprend le Forum de Montréal et les Canadiens de Montréal. L’entreprise devient aussi cocommanditaire de la Soirée du Hockey.

Les Canadiens goûtent à leur
première Molson Canadian.

1959

La Molson Canadian fait son entrée sur le marché en 1959, soutenue par une campagne télé qui demande aux consommateurs : « Que recherchez-vous dans une lager? » Notre bière bien fraîche prouve que la demande a été entendue. C’est la naissance d’un pilier de l’industrie brassicole canadienne.

Molson et
les Maple Leafs
deviennent partenaires.

1973

Les liens entre Molson et la LNH se renforcent en 1973 quand l’entreprise conclut un partenariat avec les Maple Leafs de Toronto. Et l’entente perdure, plus de 40 ans plus tard.

Création du projet
Red Leaf.

2012

Dans le cadre de nos efforts pour protéger l’environnement, nous avons lancé en 2012 le projet Red Leaf. Avec une équipe de bénévoles, nous avons planté des milliers d’arbres, rempli des centaines de sacs de déchets trouvés dans nos espaces verts et retiré plusieurs espèces envahissantes de nombreux parcs partout au pays.

Lancement de notre frigo
à bière à travers le monde.

2015

En 2015, des frigos rouges remplis de Molson Canadian se mettent à apparaître un peu partout dans le monde. Permettant à des voyageurs canadiens et des gens de la place de se réunir autour de quelques tournées de Molson, ils montrent au monde entier que la fierté canadienne ne connaît pas de frontière.

Pour un goût canadien.

2018


Molson a toujours fait tout en son pouvoir pour utiliser des ingrédients qui reflètent sa fierté canadienne, comme de l’orge cultivée dans les Prairies et de l’eau canadienne. En 2018, nous avons commencé à utiliser du houblon cultivé à Chilliwack, en Colombie-Britannique, où nous ouvrirons sous peu une nouvelle brasserie. Elle s’ajoutera à celles de Saint-Jean de Terre-Neuve, Moncton, Montréal et Toronto.